What is the Texas Age of Consent?
The Texas Age of Consent is 17 years old. In the United States, the age of consent is the minimum age at which an individual is considered legally old enough to consent to participation in sexual activity. Individuals aged 16 or younger in Texas are not legally able to consent to sexual activity, and such activity may result in prosecution for statutory rape.
Texas statutory rape law is violated when a person has consensual sexual intercourse with an individual under age 17. While there is no close in age exemption, defenses exist when the offender was no more than 3 years older then the victim and of the opposite sex. sexual intercourse between an employee of a school and a student is also prohibited, unless they are married, and no age of consent is specified in this .
WHAT TO DO IF YOU THINK YOUR CHILD HAS BEEN SEXUALLY ABUSED.
- Don’t deny the problem; Believe the child no matter how had it may be.
- Try to control your emotions: (your child may shut down if they believe they have done something wrong in telling you.)
- Get medical assistance.
- Report the abuse to local law enforcement.
- Give your child emotional support.
- LISTEN to your child, let them talk so you will get the information you need to relay to law enforcement.
- Let them know how proud you are for telling you.
Law enforcement will refer you to our local rape crisis center, they will help you through the process.